Can someone identify this frequency

Communications scanning & radio related discussion for Victoria, covering Melbourne, the Grampians, Gippsland, Loddon Mallee etc
BitProcess

Can someone identify this frequency

Post by BitProcess »

Hey,

I live in the Shepparton area and I'm new to scanning. I was doing a general scan the other day and picked up 164.437.50 and I'm hearing all kinds of talk on it. I guess it's some sort of repeater but where is the feed coming from and what sort of repeater Is it?

Also can someone give me a list of all the repeaters the Shepparton area can receive please?

thanks
The scanners I have at the moment.
Uniden UBC355XLT - My first scanner I got myself.
Uniden UBC93XLT - The second scanner I got myself.
Uniden UBCD396T - The first digital scanner I got myself.
BitProcess

Re: Can someone identify this frequency

Post by BitProcess »

Thank you very much for your help.
Mathew

Post by Mathew »

Yeah looks like SMR

Site ID 43872
Name Police/Telstra Site 27 km E of Shepparton MT MAJOR

http://web.acma.gov.au/pls/radcom/site_ ... E_ID=43872
Uniden 396T + RH-96, Uniden BCT8, Puxing 888 UHF
BitProcess

Post by BitProcess »

Thanks Mathew,

Just say I wanted to monitor all traffic channels, do I only monitor the out channels or do I monitor both in and out?

And are all frequencies gonna have something different on them?

My scanner is a Uniden UBC93XLT, what would be the best way to program all the SMR frequencies into it?

thanks
Mathew

Post by Mathew »

What you want to do is monitor the voice frequencies.
Have a look here: http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?siteId=15294

The red/blue frequencies are the control/alternate control channels. These control what transmissions are transmitted on what voice channel and so forth. If you try and listen to these, you will hear a garbled noise.
The voice frequencies are the grey ones.