Vic SES SMR + UBCD396XT

Enthusiast discussion on trunked radio networks, protocols including MPT1327, TETRA, EDACS, SMARTNET - as well as talk group ID's
SimoHDK

Vic SES SMR + UBCD396XT

Post by SimoHDK »

Hi All,

I recently picked up a Uniden UBCD396XT and I'm hoping to listen into the Victorian SES SMR network in Melbourne. Does anybody have a guide as to how I can go about doing so? I'm rather new to this technology.

Tried searching around but came to false ends.

Cheers,
Simo.
peteramjet

Re: Vic SES SMR + UBCD396XT

Post by peteramjet »

I understand the Vic SMR network to be a MPT1327 network. If that is the case the 396XT will not be able to track the network correctly. You will therefore have to program all frequencies from each site as conventional channels and keep hitting 'scan' until you hear the user you want to listen to. Some sites may have set frequencies that are only used by some users, which may make it easier. It's far from ideal, but unless you use a computer to follow the network I don't think there is another way.
SimoHDK

Post by SimoHDK »

Great, that's already making more sense.

I think I'll be doing both methods, firstly plugging them into the scanner and secondly running something like TrunkView?

Any ideas on where to get the list of frequencies from?
peteramjet

Post by peteramjet »

SimoHDK wrote:Any ideas on where to get the list of frequencies from?
I'm in NSW sorry mate, so don't have details of frequencies. My experience was from previous trips to Vic in the past. There will likely be someone here on the forum who can give you the info you are after, if it not already listed in a thread somewhere.
Comint

Post by Comint »

SimoHDK wrote:Great, that's already making more sense.

I think I'll be doing both methods, firstly plugging them into the scanner and secondly running something like TrunkView?

Any ideas on where to get the list of frequencies from?
TrunkView is the way to go.