The difference between UHF and VHF antennae

Communications scanning & radio related discussion for Queensland, covering Brisbane, Townsville, Cairns, Rockhampton etc
bagman002

Post by bagman002 »

Hi Aussie Scanners,

I am new to this forum and forums in general as there are few that I like or that interest me.

I have used CB radios in the past more for recreational use as a kid. As for the setup and installing I am a noob. I just bought myself a cheap programmable radio with the primary use to listen/talk with FireCom and FireGround (I should mention that I am a Rural Fire Fighter so talking will only be when I am with the brigade) as well as listen to local police chatter.

However getting back to the question. Like I mentioned I just bought myself a radio and it came with both a UHF and a VHF antenna. Apart from the size what is the difference? I can talk and transmit using both antennae for both UHF and VHF.

I hope this is not a stupid question but I would like to learn more about radio communication.

Brent
Sold my Uniden 93XLT and now using Uniden 396XT
rochedalescan
Founder

Re: The difference between UHF and VHF antennae

Post by rochedalescan »

If I were you Brent, I would stick with using the UHF Antenna on the UHF band. It may work with both but you will probably find you will get out alot better with the UHF band antenna as they specifically tuned for that particular band.

VHF for you and I is generally for use on a boat with a VHF boat radio but is sometimes used by those that like to set up amateur band radio (VHF band is from 140-170mhz). UHF is anything from 400mhz upwards of 500mhz which will be the band that Police/Fire are using in your area.

Cheers Shane
Shane Logan
Aussiescanners Founder

Australia's Premier Communications forum!
~ Please contact Phil for administration enquiries ~
Phil
Administrator

Post by Phil »

Actually it is possible that this antenna could be VHF mid band which the fire and ambos use alot up there