Hand Held Scanner OR Desktop - Which to Choose?

Discussion on any technologies that do not fall under one of the above vendors, including programming, tutorials, schematics, requests for help and new releases etc
Forum rules
***NOTE*** This forum and its content are not endorsed in any way by the vendor and users are advised to exercise caution when viewing and/or acting on any information contained within. We accept no responsibility for your devices and strongly warn you to check your warranty conditions and seek expert advice before proceeding.
AIRMAN

Hand Held Scanner OR Desktop - Which to Choose?

Post by AIRMAN »

Many of you here have already past this mark, but there may be a few members here who need to weigh the pros and cons of Handheld (HH) and Desktop (DT) scanning receivers before shelling out their hard earned money.

I have been monitoring UHF/VHF & HF since the 1970’s and I have owned quite a few receivers in my time.

In this age of miniaturization we are getting products that do the same job and more inside a smaller and smaller box. That being said, the HH scanning receivers of today seem to be the most popular because they can be carried and used in public places or at events such as air shows and sporting events. They are getting so small, some are beginning to look like mobile phones. HH scanners available today come with a supplied antenna either with a BNC connector or SMA as in the case of Icom. The BNC connector enables the owner to attach an antenna other than the supplied one which may work better on lower bands like VHF or even HF in some cases. One can get an adapter for SMA/BNC, but it can contribute to signal deterioration in some cases. HH scanners are powered by batteries which require recharging. The AA cell NimH are the standard power supply. Some of the latest HH models however have lithium powered cells which can last for up to 12 hrs on low power mode, but they do cost more.

Here are my pros and cons of HH scanners: