SDS200 Scanner?

Discussion on Uniden technologies, including programming, tutorials, schematics, requests for help and new releases etc
Forum rules
***NOTE*** This forum and its content are not endorsed in any way by the vendor and users are advised to exercise caution when viewing and/or acting on any information contained within. We accept no responsibility for your devices and strongly warn you to check your warranty conditions and seek expert advice before proceeding.
User avatar
Pumper_50
Registered User
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:11 am
Location: Victoria
Contact:

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by Pumper_50 »

railscan wrote:Some observations if I may.

The lead up to the release of a new scanner can and does generate a considerable amount of excitement which in turn manifests itself often creating hyperbole.

Accordingly some consumers believe the rhetoric and the scanner takes on magic or mystical properties. Simply they expect more than the device can deliver. Just have to remember that it is wide band unprotected receiver and should be treated as such.

Enjoy it and remember that it cannot perform miracles.

R
So it won't make me a cup of tea?

Bugger!

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Regards,
Pumper_50

http://vicradiozone.com

User avatar
railscan
Registered User
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:23 pm

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by railscan »

[/quote]So it won't make me a cup of tea? Bugger![/quote]

Its American, coffee only.

R

Pendulum
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 4:42 am
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by Pendulum »

sorry to rebump this thread, A/V and Data Tas are selling the SDS200E for $1299. email [email protected] I am the owner of the business. we make next to nothing on them after postage, import taxes and then adding an AU power supply. but I know there are some that want to have them and I did all the hard yards to offer them to you all

User avatar
VK3RX
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:18 pm
Location: Woodend, Victoria

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by VK3RX »

Recall a few posts back I mentioned that my recently purchased SDS200 from the U.S. has the hum/digital noise.

A PM exchange with another member prompted me to pull the covers off and see if the NMP200 part had been installed by the factory, and it had been.

Posts on RR mentioned that the part may or may not make good contact between the chassis and an internal cover. One mod is to install some copper tape on the top of the part and the internal cover to improve contact.

Below are a few pix of what I did. The copper tape I have is adhesive backed, hence folding it over on itself for continuous contact from front to back. Keeping it's backing tape on adds to the overall thickness. The tape was trimmed to width about 15mm, and the narrow folded portion is about 8mm. It's firmly wedged behind the NMP200, and isn't going anywhere.

The hum/digital noise has now almost disappeared - only audible at a very low level if I put my ear within about 100mm of the speaker. Here's hoping this fix is permanent.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
VK3RX
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:18 pm
Location: Woodend, Victoria

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by VK3RX »

Since almost a month has elapsed I thought I'd provide an update.

The copper tape fix proved to be temperature-dependent. When the unit is first powered up - cold - the noise is only apparent within a couple of inches of the speaker. However when it warms up the noise increases, not quite to the original level with just the Uniden fitted part, but audible out to a metre or so.

So I decided to do one of the permanent fixes described on RR, the one involving the removal of lacquer from the front printed circuit board at the mounting screws locations. This mod is one way to solve the grounding issue that causes the hum, which the Uniden fitted part NMP200 may or may not achieve.

I had wondered about doing nothing until the warranty ran out, but decided to investigate anyway. The mod isn't for the faint-hearted or inexperienced with electronics.

Removal of the front panel and detaching the printed circuit board wasn't as straightforward as I thought it would be from RR pix and descriptions, but I got there and completed the fix without any issues.

Suffice to say that I was relieved and pleased that after reassembly 1) the unit booted up as it should and everything worked, and 2) the hum/noise is completely gone and hasn't returned, no matter what the temperature :D

AusPTT
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by AusPTT »

I have imported quite a number of SDS200E's now for resale now. Given they are an import and don't come with an Australian Power plug I swap this out and rebox them. At the same time I Firmware upgrade them and put a basic Analogue, P25, DMR codeplug in them to test every one of them is working prior to sale and shipment.

To date I haven't had a single SDS200E with any form of hum in it and all perform flawlessly. Infact Received Signal Strength is ever so slightly better than a couple of other radios I have also.

A great scanner in my view. Dare I say it and introduce the argument, if it had a remote head it would be simply brilliant. For that I have the Whistler TRX-2 :)

User avatar
Radio_Australia
Registered User
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:52 pm
Location: Australia

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by Radio_Australia »

AusPTT wrote:I have imported quite a number of SDS200E's now for resale now. Given they are an import and don't come with an Australian Power plug I swap this out and rebox them. At the same time I Firmware upgrade them and put a basic Analogue, P25, DMR codeplug in them to test every one of them is working prior to sale and shipment.

To date I haven't had a single SDS200E with any form of hum in it and all perform flawlessly. Infact Received Signal Strength is ever so slightly better than a couple of other radios I have also.

A great scanner in my view. Dare I say it and introduce the argument, if it had a remote head it would be simply brilliant. For that I have the Whistler TRX-2 :)
How do you compare the sensitivity of the whistler to the SDS ?

AusPTT
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by AusPTT »

Without putting them both over a system analyser I reckon they're both pretty much on par. I did some comparisons on the same frequency, same antenna, same cable run and both were within 1db of each other. I don't get much of a chance to try for long range distant signals because of the basin I'm in and the size of the ranges around it, but all in all I don't feel a lot of difference between the two. Features are the two main things separating them.

donaldm
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:19 am
Location: new Zealand

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by donaldm »

VK3RX wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:36 am
Update.

Unit arrived yesterday, no hiccups in transit from the U.S. - 'nuf said :wink:

It does have the "hum/digital buzz", noticeable using an external speaker if you are within 300-400mm or so but otherwise not, so its not intrusive. My 536-PT was the same. Noise still there with the internal speaker, but as Rusty said even less noticeable because that speaker points downwards.

Loaded with all my data and working well. Like the SDS100, it seems to lock onto trunking signals quicker and has less dropped transmissions than the 536-PT I had.

Now dipping my toes into the water of customizing the display and other fun stuff :)
SO jealous :(

donaldm
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:19 am
Location: new Zealand

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by donaldm »

im saving now for SDS200E

AusPTT
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: SDS200 Scanner?

Post by AusPTT »

Nice. Let me know when you have the cash. I distribute out of Australia so will be able to get it to you cheaper than you getting a one off out of Europe. I have sold a couple into NZ already. Only issue is postage will be more expensive as it will need to go by courier. If you are able to get it onto a courier account (so your employers or something like that) it will cut the price down considerably.

Post Reply