Icom cloning cable

For anyone that wants to modify their equipment or has a question relating to their installation issues
Forum rules
Aussiescanners takes no responsibility for any modification undertaken, these are to be done at your own risk and should only be performed by those with good knowledge of radio and soldering.
Post Reply
Steamy Moose
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:08 pm

Icom cloning cable

Post by Steamy Moose » Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:46 pm

Hi all

Wondering if the programming buffs can throw me some info in relation to the icom cloning cable (OPC-478UC USB)

Is there an aftermarket version of this cable or could I possibly make it up from the local electronics shop? Is there a real need for the genuine cable?

I have researched it online but finding conflicting information.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Matt

User avatar
Phantom
Forum Manager
Posts: 1305
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: SE QLD

Re: Icom cloning cable

Post by Phantom » Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:03 am

What radio are u wanting to program?
eBay?

Steamy Moose
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:08 pm

Re: Icom cloning cable

Post by Steamy Moose » Thu Mar 12, 2015 9:10 pm

Phantom wrote:What radio are u wanting to program?
eBay?
I have sourced an aftermarket from fleabay. I'm looking at programming a IC-41W, wanted to add a few extra frequencies in the 450-580 range.

Have you used the cloning software before? Can you input rx/tx frequencies with it?

Cheers

Matt

User avatar
Phantom
Forum Manager
Posts: 1305
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: SE QLD

Icom cloning cable

Post by Phantom » Sun Mar 15, 2015 5:56 am

Does the cable work?
If you are wanting to use it with your work, wouldn't it be easier to take the radio to your works radio tech and seek their approval to use it and then get it programmed by them?

Steamy Moose
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:08 pm

Icom cloning cable

Post by Steamy Moose » Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:53 am

Haven't tried the cable yet, but by looking through the software it only has capabilities of programming RX private channels. I will take it into the preferred dealer a get it done.

Thanks for your help!

Matt

railscan
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:23 pm

Re: Icom cloning cable

Post by railscan » Sun Mar 15, 2015 1:30 pm

Steamy Moose wrote:Haven't tried the cable yet, but by looking through the software it only has capabilities of programming RX private channels. I will take it into the preferred dealer a get it done.
Thanks for your help!
Matt
Any of the Icoms that allow extra channels to be programmed can have both TX and RX. Some software versions will only allow RX. What radio are you trying to program? You may have mentioned but I don't recall.

R

Steamy Moose
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:08 pm

Re: Icom cloning cable

Post by Steamy Moose » Sun Mar 15, 2015 1:37 pm

Trying to program a IC-41W

railscan
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:23 pm

Re: Icom cloning cable

Post by railscan » Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:42 pm

Steamy Moose wrote:Trying to program a IC-41W
Give me a hour or so and I will PM you.

R

Steamy Moose
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:08 pm

Re: Icom cloning cable

Post by Steamy Moose » Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:33 pm

railscan wrote:
Steamy Moose wrote:Trying to program a IC-41W
Give me a hour or so and I will PM you.

R
Cheers thanks mate

Post Reply