Interference

If your into decoding transmissions, this is the place for you. Topics cover everything from pocsag, ermes, acars, flex & mobitex!!!
Post Reply
Kazzaw
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:31 pm
Location: South West QLD

Interference

Post by Kazzaw » Mon May 14, 2018 4:02 pm

Hi guys,

Currently running a decoding setup using a SDR however my local area (have recently moved toowoomba) however on tuning into 148.6375 I appear to be picking up dual broadcast/echos (I can see 2 of the same streams probably 1mhz apart in the waterfall) which is causing havoc in PDW. I can get 148.5something perfectly. Any clues?

dazz1975
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:37 am

Re: Interference

Post by dazz1975 » Tue May 15, 2018 6:34 am

Maybe get a directional antenna?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

User avatar
Blake
Registered User
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:25 am
Location: VIC
Contact:

Re: Interference

Post by Blake » Tue May 15, 2018 8:47 am

Yeah, the possibility could be that you are in proximity to two towers / transmitters, and are receiving both, at slightly different times / frequencies. You might be too sensitive / omnidirectional. As dazz said, try a directional antenna (like a tv antenna) and point it at one one the towers.
VESARS


"cognitio vincit tenebras"

Boort8720
Registered User
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 6:58 am

Re: Interference

Post by Boort8720 » Tue May 15, 2018 2:31 pm

I use an old rectangular grid VHF TV antenna, which I have pointed in the general direction of my closest transmitter. I also run a TV Booster as I am quite some distance from the transmitter. Works a treat, 100% decode rate all day, everyday.
Mitch Baker

Uniden UBCD396XT, BCT15X, UBCD996T, UBCD436-PT, Tait TM9100, Simoco SRM9000, Yaesu FT70DR, Motorola GP339

Kazzaw
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:31 pm
Location: South West QLD

Re: Interference

Post by Kazzaw » Tue May 15, 2018 4:22 pm

Yep seems like its interference from the two close.

I've bumped the freq a little and adjusted my antenna, still getting both but can now decode with less issue

heres what I'm seeing https://drive.google.com/open?id=1d9pNd ... -iooHqMi9K

Post Reply