PDW Antenna issues

If your into decoding transmissions, this is the place for you. Topics cover everything from pocsag, ermes, acars, flex & mobitex!!!
madmarto

PDW Antenna issues

Post by madmarto »

Hi Guys,

I've been running PDW for about 2 years using an internal antenna but have finally gotten around to putting an antenna on the roof. My problem is that the system receives local voice comms using the external antenna but the local paging frequency receives nothing - I've tested it with a second handheld scanner using the h/h antenna beside the PC as well as up the ladder so I now the signal is good. I've been researching this for about 2 weeks and have not been able to find a solution, so here I am.

My setup is a UBC73XLT feeding via Disc Tap to a Windows 95 computer running PDW. Local pager frequency is 148.9125 and I'm approx 14km from the tower. The old antenna was a mini magnetic mount scanner antenna on the window sill and the current antenna is a 3ft stainless steel whip antenna mounted on the TV mast approx 3 metres East and up. The mini mag was good but in bad weather or on hot days the PDW signal strength would drop to 40-60% and result in no messages. Tests internal and external were done with the UBC73XLT, a UBCD396XT and UBCD436-PT all with the same results. I've discounted cable/plug issues, interference, etc (I even put the ext antennas on the outside of the window sill and got the same result) so this one has me completely stuffed!

Why would the external antennas (4 different antenna tested on the mast) all receive improved local voice comms in the 163/164 Mhz range but nothing on the paging frequency?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Uniden UBCD396XT with UBC-RH96 remote head in the car; Uniden UBC73XLT (PDW), UBC396XT and UBCD436-PT at home.
madmarto

Re: PDW Antenna issues

Post by madmarto »

UPDATE: It seems I had a short in the cable at the antenna base (the foil shield was to long on the dielectric insulator).