Welcome to the Aussie Scanners group, register today and join in the fun!!!  The main website, forum and tapatalk have all been updated...  Why not introduce yourself in the member introductions forum ? ...

PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

If your into decoding transmissions, this is the place for you. Topics cover everything from pocsag, ermes, acars, flex & mobitex!!!

PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby comport1 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:08 am

Just in case anyone asks, PDW works fine on Windows 10 64 Bit using "Audio In" to the Sound card, and i am getting 100% Decode Rate. But in saying that, i am using a TAIT TM8250 for the Receiver and utilizing the TAP Output of Unfiltered Audio through the DB-15 plug on the back of the unit. I have the Line Level @ 50% on the Windows Audio Mixer (Recording Devices) and working awesome!

I have been using PDW on Win XP for years, one on 148.6375 (FSK Slicer into Comport) and 148.5625 (Audio in From Scanner).

You can check out my that setup here, http://www.aussiescanners.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=7034

Although working on, the XP Machine is getting on, and now using a modern Desktop.

I'm going to do a complete overhaul very soon of my PDW setup, featuring NEW Mini-PC Windows 10, and bypassing the need for Slicers and Using Audio in and will post as i progress...

Hopefully, someone finds this info useful.

Cheers
------------------------------------------
Comport1
User avatar
comport1
Registered User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 12:55 pm
Location: Central Queensland

Re: PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby comport1 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:10 am

Image
------------------------------------------
Comport1
User avatar
comport1
Registered User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 12:55 pm
Location: Central Queensland

Re: PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby Phantom » Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:08 pm

Thanks for the update and info
User avatar
Phantom
Forum Manager
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: SE QLD

Re: PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby Bass Junkie » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:45 am

FWIW, works fine on win 10 64 bit with an RTL-SDR too. Also fine on Win 2k12 and 2k8R2 :)
Bass Junkie
Registered User
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:45 am

Re: PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby comport1 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:31 pm

Just an update to my overhaul of my PDW Rx'ing Setup, i have put these "Ground Loop Noise Isolator" inline, and wow, i think i'm even getting better results again. I noticed some 1200 baud traffic wasn't decoding properly, and i was "missing" messages and this would happen especially if it TX'ed directly after a 512 Transmission and no break for the 1200 straight after. Even though i was always showing 100% success rate, the 1200 stuff is coming through even better now, and not missing the messages now, as i compare it to a another RAW feed using Pocsag Protocol Monitor .....

These "Ground Loop Noise Isolators" also help great with Scanner Streams, using Line In & get's rid of that "Hum" or "Buzzing" that you often hear on some stream providers.

For $9.95 ea from Jaycar, you can't go wrong, i bought several... ;)
Image

I highly recommend these for any Scanner to PC connections usuing the LINE In or MIC jacks to your soundcard.

Cheers
------------------------------------------
Comport1
User avatar
comport1
Registered User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 12:55 pm
Location: Central Queensland

Re: PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby zonian149 » Sat Jul 01, 2017 9:31 am

I would like to know how you get PDW working in Windows 10. I have been running PDW for many years on my PCs that are Windows XP. I have tried to run it on Windows 10, but the slicer driver doesn't work in Windows 10. I have a 2-level Data, and a 4-level Data Slicers. I have even run it without a slicer using the sound card, but that was always on Windows XP PCs. Any help would be greatly appreciated.--Gary
zonian149
Newly Registered Users
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:56 am

Re: PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby rob_w » Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:45 pm

I am getting 100% on Win 10 64 bit here too using an SDRPlay piped via VB cable or Voicemeeter but I must keep all audio levels and RF gain down, fairly sure the RTL SDR works just as well. Haven"t tried the win10 system yet with one of the discriminator tapped sets but can't see why they won't work as well. The 64 bit Win 10 is on a 13" HP Convertible i7 with all audio and settings as they came out of the box, only VB Cable and Voicemeeter installed.
Don't seem to need any filters, maybe as I am in a rural area with no RFI but have very strong pager signals.
No different to set up than the Win 7 laptops or from memory the XP system (but my memory ain't what it used to be!) Rob.
rob_w
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby comport1 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:47 pm

Just an update on this.... Note the "100 Percent" on both windows...

Decoding nicely on Win 7 64 Bit. Screenshots attached, and personal details removed...

This is the seperated 512 Baud decode.
512.png


And this is the seperated 1200 Baud decode.
1200.png


Cheers
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
------------------------------------------
Comport1
User avatar
comport1
Registered User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 12:55 pm
Location: Central Queensland

Re: PDW on Windows 10 64 Bit

Postby Phantom » Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:59 am

Awesome results!
User avatar
Phantom
Forum Manager
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: SE QLD


Return to Data & Pager Technologies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests