Welcome to the Aussie Scanners group, register today and join in the fun!!!  The main website, forum and tapatalk have all been updated...  Why not introduce yourself in the member introductions forum ? ...

VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Discussion on Yaesu / Vertex technologies, including programming, tutorials, schematics, requests for help and new releases etc
Forum rules
***NOTE*** This forum and its content are not endorsed in any way by the vendor and users are advised to exercise caution when viewing and/or acting on any information contained within. We accept no responsibility for your devices and strongly warn you to check your warranty conditions and seek expert advice before proceeding.

VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby GME Man » Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:06 pm

Hi, I have a problem with programming my Vertex Standard VX-426 radio, but i think the main reason is because of the drivers. I was just wondering what drivers you need to program it.
GME Man
User avatar
GME Man
Registered User
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:46 pm
Location: Queensland

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby Phantom » Tue Nov 29, 2016 7:23 pm

I believe that all the required drivers are supplied with the CD.
User avatar
Phantom
Forum Manager
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: SE QLD

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby Vkfour » Wed Nov 30, 2016 12:02 pm

You need to make sure that you are using a serial to USB programming lead that will work with your OS. Many of the cheap leads just wont work on anything after XP, and even then, some of them can be hit and miss.
Vkfour
Senior Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:27 am

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby GME Man » Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:42 pm

Yeah I have purchased the USB cable and there is a driver disk that comes with it. I have installed the drivers and selected the right com port, but now it's saying there is something wrong with the com port.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
GME Man
User avatar
GME Man
Registered User
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:46 pm
Location: Queensland

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby Vkfour » Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:47 pm

There is probably nothing wrong with your COM port, it is more than likely the early model, fake prolific chip, I used to get the same result. Google will show you pages of problems with these leads. I got around it by using a serial to radio lead and got a USB to serial adapter and have not had a problem with any radio or even an old TNC modem since. Make sure you get your adapter locally because there are adapters and there are adapters and you'll want to be able to take it back if it doesn't work.
Vkfour
Senior Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:27 am

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby Phantom » Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:25 am

Where did you purchase the cable and software from? This might help to explain the root cause to your problem
User avatar
Phantom
Forum Manager
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: SE QLD

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby GME Man » Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:56 am

I got the cable on eBay with the driver disk, and I got the software from Austech


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
GME Man
User avatar
GME Man
Registered User
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:46 pm
Location: Queensland

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby Vkfour » Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:52 am

Enough said, most of the e-bay cables are using out of date, knock off chips. They will probably work on an XP system and I have managed to get them to work on Linux, but not on 8, 8.1 or Win 10. Compatibility mode doesn't work either.
Vkfour
Senior Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:27 am

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby GME Man » Thu Dec 01, 2016 1:40 pm

I've only got windows 7


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
GME Man
User avatar
GME Man
Registered User
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:46 pm
Location: Queensland

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby Vkfour » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:25 pm

Read a previous post ...

There is probably nothing wrong with your COM port, it is more than likely the early model, fake prolific chip, I used to get the same result. Google will show you pages of problems with these leads. I got around it by using a serial to radio lead and got a USB to serial adapter and have not had a problem with any radio or even an old TNC modem since. Make sure you get your adapter locally because there are adapters and there are adapters and you'll want to be able to take it back if it doesn't work.
Vkfour
Senior Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:27 am

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby Comint » Fri Dec 02, 2016 8:59 am

GME Man wrote:I've only got windows 7

The problem is with counterfeit Prolific chipsets used in such cables.
Prolific have rewritten their Drivers so they don't work with the counterfeit chips.

Windows regularly updates your OS (even Win7) with up-to-date drivers, so the cables may work for a while with old drivers, then fail once the updated drivers are installed.

If your programming cable cost less than about US$15 -18, then there is about a 99.99% probability that it has the counterfeit Prolific chipset.

--
Comint
Comint
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1601
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: VERTEX STANDARD VX-426 Programming

Postby GME Man » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:30 am

It's all good now I couldn't get it to work on a normal computer but I tried it on my Tough Book army computer and it worked straight away. Thanks for the replies guys.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
GME Man
User avatar
GME Man
Registered User
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:46 pm
Location: Queensland


Return to Yaesu / Vertex

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron