Gme rx1300

Discussion on GME technologies, including programming, tutorials, schematics, requests for help and new releases etc
Forum rules
***NOTE*** This forum and its content are not endorsed in any way by the vendor and users are advised to exercise caution when viewing and/or acting on any information contained within. We accept no responsibility for your devices and strongly warn you to check your warranty conditions and seek expert advice before proceeding.
Post Reply
User avatar
bananaman
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:45 pm
Location: Ipswich Motorway, Goodna

Gme rx1300

Post by bananaman » Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:22 pm

gme rx 1300
does anyone have one or played with one and are they any good?

User avatar
Scannersplitterguy
Registered User
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:44 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by Scannersplitterguy » Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:34 am

I'm wondering the same thing too.
They have a much wider freq. range than a similar model Uniden and 1300 memory locations.
Only feature lacking is SSB - essential for HF frequencies.

Anyone own one or used one?
http://www.scannerantennasplitter.com
http://www.acdcmanuals.com
AOR AR8200MK3, UBC340CRS x 2, UBC370CRS, UBC93XLT, UBCT9, UH400SX, Yaesu FRG-8800, Tecsun PL-660, SR162 VHF AIS, SDR USB Dongle, Anytone AT-6666, Pearce Simpson Super Cheetah 27 MHz AM/SSB, QJE QJ-PS30II 30A PSU, Diamond DJ-130 Discone, Shockwave 5/8 27MHz, DIY HF longwire

User avatar
bananaman
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:45 pm
Location: Ipswich Motorway, Goodna

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by bananaman » Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:24 pm

i went and got one and its not that great when i brought it the battery didnt charge so took it back now any time i pick something up theres a backround noise that nearly drowns out whats tring to be heard i hope someone can explain why this happens only on everything but radio stations like triple j and b105 i think it might be a trip back to the shop to get fixed again as its still under the 3 yr warranty . other than that its not to bad no gaps in the scanning range is great and being able to tune frequencys down to the last number is good

User avatar
Scannersplitterguy
Registered User
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:44 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by Scannersplitterguy » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:50 am

Not a good start with two problems.... :(
How good is the battery life now?
http://www.scannerantennasplitter.com
http://www.acdcmanuals.com
AOR AR8200MK3, UBC340CRS x 2, UBC370CRS, UBC93XLT, UBCT9, UH400SX, Yaesu FRG-8800, Tecsun PL-660, SR162 VHF AIS, SDR USB Dongle, Anytone AT-6666, Pearce Simpson Super Cheetah 27 MHz AM/SSB, QJE QJ-PS30II 30A PSU, Diamond DJ-130 Discone, Shockwave 5/8 27MHz, DIY HF longwire

User avatar
bananaman
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:45 pm
Location: Ipswich Motorway, Goodna

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by bananaman » Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:37 am

it gets a good 12hrs out of the battery but then takes nearly 15hrs to charge the stupid thing

User avatar
rochedalescan
Founder
Posts: 1631
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:08 pm
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by rochedalescan » Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:55 pm

Should just take it back, maybe pay a little extra and get something like an icom
Shane Logan
Aussiescanners Founder

Australia's Premier Communications forum!
~ Please contact Phil for administration enquiries ~

User avatar
bananaman
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:45 pm
Location: Ipswich Motorway, Goodna

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by bananaman » Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:24 pm

I wouldnt mind but do they have gaps in the scanning like uniden?

User avatar
rochedalescan
Founder
Posts: 1631
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:08 pm
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by rochedalescan » Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:43 pm

Looking on here http://www.icom-australia.com/products/ ... ic-r5.html it says that it has full frequency coverage (Full frequency coverage (0.150 MHz to 1309.995MHz)) Which I would think is no gaps
Shane Logan
Aussiescanners Founder

Australia's Premier Communications forum!
~ Please contact Phil for administration enquiries ~

User avatar
Scannersplitterguy
Registered User
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:44 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by Scannersplitterguy » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:30 pm

bananaman wrote:it gets a good 12hrs out of the battery but then takes nearly 15hrs to charge the stupid thing
Think I'll give it a miss, nothing worse than flat batteries and considering it doesn't use AA size, it's not really practical.
I hope GME is listening.....give it SSB and AA batteries and I'll snap one up.
http://www.scannerantennasplitter.com
http://www.acdcmanuals.com
AOR AR8200MK3, UBC340CRS x 2, UBC370CRS, UBC93XLT, UBCT9, UH400SX, Yaesu FRG-8800, Tecsun PL-660, SR162 VHF AIS, SDR USB Dongle, Anytone AT-6666, Pearce Simpson Super Cheetah 27 MHz AM/SSB, QJE QJ-PS30II 30A PSU, Diamond DJ-130 Discone, Shockwave 5/8 27MHz, DIY HF longwire

User avatar
bananaman
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:45 pm
Location: Ipswich Motorway, Goodna

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by bananaman » Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:26 am

amen to that

dags
Registered User
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:59 am

Re: Gme rx1300

Post by dags » Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:56 pm

sounds like a heap of crap to me ,much much better scanners out there one would think and knows

Post Reply