Uniden Ex130XLT and freqencies

For amateur and citizens band radio enthusiasts, covering licensing issues, carrier dropping, sideband and all other related discussions
ler260

Uniden Ex130XLT and freqencies

Post by ler260 »

Hi
I am just wanting to know about your thought on the Uniden EX130XLT scanner. Is this UHF and VHF and what do I need to listen to police, fire brigade, ambulance and planes, helicopter and stuff. I am very new to this and don't understand much about scanners. What frequencies do I need for Nowra/Ulladulla to listen to the services mentioned above. Any other info would be great
Thanks ler260
Phantom
Forum Manager

Re: Uniden Ex130XLT and freqencies

Post by Phantom »

Howdy!
Welcome to the forum.
If you are wanting to listen to aircraft, this scanner will be fine.
I am not 100% sure of the network the services are on in that part of the world. I will leave that part up to those who are more up to speed on things in your neck of the woods.
My understanding is that they are not a bad scanner for their price. You may find it a little more beneficial if you get a trunking scanner (UBCD396XT as an example if your budget cam stretch) as this can pick up some digital un-encrypted streams, however again, find out what services are in your area first prior to make such a large purchase to ensure it fits your needs and that your scanner of choice will be suitable for your needs.
ler260

Post by ler260 »

thanks for answering. I just did some more research and found out that this is not digital and therefore wont be able to listen to nswgrn. This is a real shame. I 13 years old and don't have enough money for the scanner your were suggesting do you know of any online or in store shops that sell cheap UBCD396XT
thanks again
Phantom
Forum Manager

Post by Phantom »

You maybe able find a cheap(ish) 396 on eBay as well as other trading website (gumtree)